Great talent celebrated at Green Room awards

AMPAG congratulates all winners at the Green Room Awards, announced last night in Melbourne.

Great talent celebrated at Green Room awards


‘They show the extraordinary depth of talent and the scale of innovation in our performing arts scene', Ms Bethwyn Serow, AMPAG’s Executive Director, said.

'We are especially delighted with the achievements of major performing arts companies who were celebrated in 18 awards at last night’s ceremony.'

The Australian Ballet won three awards in the Dance category: Best Male Dancer went to Daniel Gaudiello for his work inDon Quixote andCinderella; the Shirley McKechnie Award for Choreography went to Alexei Ratmansky forCinderella, and Jerome Kaplan won the Visual Design award, also forCinderella.

Belvoir and Lucy Guerin won the Dance Concept and Realisation award forConversation Piece.

Opera Australia’s Partenope won three awards: Outstanding Director (Christopher Alden), Best Male In A Supporting Role (Kanen Breen) and Outstanding Design: Andrew Lieberman (set), Jon Morrell (costume) and Adam Silverman (lighting).

Best Female Lead in an opera went to Csilla Boross, in Opera Australia’sA Masked Ball.

Melbourne Theatre Company Artistic Director Brett Sheehy AO was delighted that six awards went to artists and creatives appearing on MTC stages.

In the Theatre Companies category, Steve Mouzakis, who played Lophakhin in the MTC’sThe Cherry Orchard, won Best Male Actor.

Danny Pettingill of Bluebottle won best Lighting Design for MTC’sOther Desert Cities.

The co-presentation from MTC/Belvoir/Kim Carpenter’s Theatre of Image—The Book of Everything—won Best Direction for Neil Armfield, together with Best Ensemble.

MTC’s inaugural NEON Festival of Independent Theatre was also celebrated with Sisters Grimm’sThe Sovereign Wife winning best Independent Production, as well as best Male Performer for Ash Flanders.

Malthouse Theatre’s The Bloody Chamber took out several awards, including Best Female Actor (Alison Whyte), Best Sound/Composition (David Chisholm and Jethro Woodward), and Best Production.

Writing/adaptation for the Australian Stage was won by Tom E. Lewis and Michael Kantor, for Malthouse Theatre’s The Shadow King.

‘Our majors received 69 nominations in the 2014 Green Room Awards—that is, a third of all nominations,’ Ms Serow said.

‘And our results last night reflected the same proportion, with MPAs winning one-third of all awards.

‘It not only reflects the excellence of their work, but also celebrates the exciting co-productions they undertake with smaller companies.’



Award Winners, News