Qld, NSW Awards and Vic Nominations announced

The winners for the 2018 Matilda Awards and Sydney Theatre Awards have been announced as have Victoria's Green Room nominations, with winners to be announced in April.

Qld, NSW Awards and Vic Nominations announced



At the end of January at a star-studded ceremony, the winners of the 2018 Sydney Theatre Awards were announced, with 34 Awards presented, shared between 16 productions which played in Sydney in 2018.

Best Mainstage Production was awarded to Sydney Theatre Company’s The Harp in the South: Part One and Part Two, which also won Best Direction of a Mainstage Production (Kip Williams) and Best New Australian Work (Kate Mulvany).

The Sydney Theatre Awards are presented annually by a group of leading theatre critics to celebrate the strength, quality and diversity of theatre in Sydney. The full list of winners can be found HERE 


The Matilda Awards Ceremony honouring and celebrating the achievements of the Queensland theatre Industry was held earlier this week at the Brisbane at the Brisbane Powerhouse with 

The Award for Best Mainstage Production was is shared between two exceptional productions this year,Prize Fighter (La Boite & Brisbane Festival) andThe Longest Minute (Jute, Debase and Queensland Theatre) sharing the honour.

Prize Fighter is recognised for the further development that has refined it into a powerful theatrical work of excellence.

The Longest Minute is acknowledged as an excellent collaboration between Jute, Debase & Queensland Theatre, fully immersing a diverse audience in the world of sport & theatre.

The full list of Award winners can be found HERE.


The Victoria Green Room nominations for 2019 have also been announced with the 36th Green Room Awards Ceremony to be held on April 1st 2019 at the Comedy Theatre in Melbourne.

The Green Room Awards have a focused (non-exclusive) emphasis on the independent and small-medium sector as well as individual creatives and performers with acknowledgement of MPAs work also in the mix.

Across its long history previous winners include Australian playwright Michael Gow, Soprano Marina Prior, dancer and Australian Ballet CEO, David McAllister, the multi-talented Tim Minchin, and international star Rachel Griffiths.

"This year we have an impressive number of nominees across all artforms which tells us that our Victorian performing arts sector is flourishing.” adds GRAA President Hilary Glow.

A total of 62 awards will be presented at this year’s Green Room Awards ceremony, including awards forTechnical Achievement and Lifetime Achievement.

A full list of nominees can be found HERE


Award Winners, News