AMPAG, Adelaide Symphony Orchestra Adelaide Symphony Orchestra:Our Place – Master Series 8

Our Place – Master Series 8

October 2020

Fri 16 

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra

Adelaide Town Hall


Exciting young conductor Elim Chan leads a celebration of life in all its fullness. Copland’s Appalachian Spring portrays a couple of newly-wed American pioneers with touching tenderness, while Bernstein’s West Side Story fizzes with passion and excitement.

A new piece by our Composer in Association takes inspiration from
South Australia’s incredible Ediacaran fossils. They made their mark in
Flinders Ranges sandstone over half a billion years ago – now what
imprint will they leave in Cathy Milliken’s latest work?

In the midst of all this, James Ehnes performs Barber’s Violin Concerto. Lovely and lyrical, it was once criticised for being too ‘small’ for a concerto, ‘like placing a small basket of dainty flowers among tall cactus in a vast prairie’, … but actually, what a lovely idea!