AMPAG, Australian Chamber Orchestra Australian Chamber Orchestra:Beethoven 250

Beethoven 250

November 2020

Thu 05 

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Wollongong Town Hall



250 years of Beethoven, in six chapters and seven composers.

To conclude the 2019 National Season, the ACO pay tribute to the most influential composer to have ever lived, Ludwig van Beethoven.

In celebration of the 250-year anniversary of the birth of the compositional giant, Richard Tognetti will lead the ACO through music that signposts every 50 years from 1770 to the current day, presenting an opportunity to grasp the sheer magnitude of Beethoven’s enduring legacy and the development of music over the last quarter millennium.

Moving from Mozart to Schubert, through to George Crumb and a brand-new work by US-UK composer Anna Clyne, along with Vaughan Williams’ soaring The Lark Ascending in a signature performance by Richard Tognetti, the concert concludes with Beethoven’s last major orchestral work, his Cavatina & Grosse Fugue. This epic and fiendishly virtuosic masterpiece is one of Beethoven’s greatest achievements, and to this day resounds with perpetual modernity.