AMPAG, Australian Chamber Orchestra Australian Chamber Orchestra:Intimate Mendelssohn & Bach

Intimate Mendelssohn & Bach

August 2020

Sat 01 

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Llewellyn Hall


Richard Tognetti leads the ACO through chamber music favourites, including Mendelssohn’s beloved Octet for Strings.

Russian pianist Polina Leschenko, a musician hailed around the world for her intensely expressive musicianship and explosive technique, will make her much anticipated return to the ACO to join Richard Tognetti for Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings. This exhilarating concerto will be followed by an ‘Impromptu’ Bach set that, in true salon style, will change for each concert.

Rounding out the program is one of the most beloved pieces of chamber music ever written, Mendelssohn’s soaring Octet in E-flat major. A work of brilliance and sublime melodic beauty, this piece – to be performed by eight virtuoso musicians of the ACO – is hailed by musicians and music-lovers alike as “one of the miracles of 19th-century music”.