AMPAG, Australian Chamber Orchestra Australian Chamber Orchestra:The Four Seasons and Beyond

The Four Seasons and Beyond

June 2020

Fri 19 

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Newcastle Town Hall



The ACO celebrates 30 years of Richard Tognetti’s artistic leadership with an electronica-infused reimagination of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.

In a characteristically bold and experimental program, the ACO continues to build on the music of the past by looking to the future as it marks 30 years of fearless artistic leadership with Richard Tognetti.

In celebration of Richard’s contributions as an arranger, composer and champion of new music, the program opens with the world premiere of a new concerto for electric violin, composed especially for Richard by the progressive young American composer Samuel Adams. This is followed by an original composition of Richard’s,Beyond, which will see the ACO’s own Satu Vänskä swap her precious 1726 ‘Belgiorno’ Stradivarius violin for a turn on vocals.

Tognetti’s vivid arrangement of Haas’s From the Monkey Mountains rounds out the first half, before a climactic performance of a new work by celebrated Scottish composer Anna Meredith. In its Australian premiere,ANNO intertwines Vivaldi’s beloved Four Seasons with music for electronics and string orchestra. Meredith herself will join the ACO onstage, while Tognetti will perform as violin soloist.

The Four Seasons & Beyond is a signature ACO concert that seamlessly blends the old with the new, the timeless with the experimental, and the cherished with the undiscovered.