AMPAG, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra:The Lark Ascending

The Lark Ascending

March 2020

Fri 20 

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Federation Concert Hall



Rising ever so gently and soaring to stratospheric heights as it twists, turns and takes flight, the solo violin in The Lark Ascending evokes an idyllic and untroubled world. Vaughan Williams’ consoling masterpiece has been a concert favourite for well-nigh a hundred years. Equally popular is Mozart’s Symphony No 41, his final symphony, which goes by the nickname ‘Jupiter’ on account of its exalted position within the symphonic orbit.

The Hobart concert opens with Grieg’s folk-inspired Norwegian Dances, while the Launceston concert offers Mendelssohn’s moody sea pictureThe Hebrides and the irrepressible energy of Saint-Saëns’s Spanish-inspired Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso for solo violin and orchestra