AMPAG, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra:Trpčeski plays Tchaikovsky

Trpčeski plays Tchaikovsky

July 2020

Fri 03 

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Federation Concert Hall



From the great booming chords that sweep up the keyboard at the opening to the furious double octaves that come crashing down at the close, Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No 1 delivers an enthralling experience from start to finish. In between, Tchaikovsky offers lashings of his trademark tunefulness and lush orchestration. Taking on this colossus is renowned Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski.

The Symphony No 2 by Danish composer Carl Nielsen explores the ancient Greek notion of the ‘Four Temperaments’ – the belief that human personalities come in four distinct types, or humours: angry, laid-back, melancholy and cheerful. Each temperament is considered in turn as the symphony progresses. Fittingly, the concert is conducted by Danish maestro and Nielsen champion, Giordano Bellincampi.