AMPAG, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra:TSO presents Australian Chamber Orchestra

TSO presents Australian Chamber Orchestra

March 2020

Tue 10 

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Federation Concert Hall



The major work by Brahms is an arrangement of the monumental G-major String Sextet, a work Richard Tognetti describes as Brahms’ ‘Fifth Symphony’. Richard Tognetti appears as soloist in his own arrangement of Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto.

Few composers were as aware of (and awed by) their musical heritage as Brahms. This concert pays homage to Brahms the composer while also recognising the musical soil from which he sprang.  For string orchestra only, the arrangement takes its inspiration from Mendelssohn’s celebrated Octet for Strings. At the heart of the program is the sublime Cavatina from Beethoven’s late string quartet, Op 130. The evening commences with a selection of Brahms’ Chorales, the composer’s nod to JS Bach and the bountiful German sacred tradition.