Adelaide Symphony Orchestra’s Virtual Concert Hall

The ASO is bringing you music in a new, personal way during the Coronavirus crisis.

Adelaide Symphony Orchestra’s Virtual Concert Hall


ASO’s Managing Director Vincent Ciccarello is delighted to announce the ASO’s Virtual Concert Hall. In this innovative series of mini-online recitals, ASO players introduce and perform music ranging from the sublime to the humorous, from much-loved classics to the less well-known.

Music has a unique ability to improve mood, self-esteem and quality of life. The ASO is committed to ensuring South Australians, as well as audiences all over the world, remain connected to the ASO through its music-making.

Of the ASO’s Virtual Concert Hall, Mr Ciccarello said, “Our regular schedule of live concerts is currently on hold due to COVID-19. However, in the interim we are pleased to bring you a series of online recitals featuring our very own ASO musicians. While the online experience is unlikely to replace the thrill of a live concert, we hope they’ll give you some solace and company.”

Leading the ASO Virtual Concert Hall is the ASO’s Director of Artistic Planning, Simon Lord along with a technical team headed by Paul Cowley. Over the last few weeks the ASO’s normal rehearsal space, the Grainger Studio, has been transformed into a digital TV studio.

Specially produced solo performances by the ASO’s musicians will be available to watch weekly on Wednesdays and Saturdays. The performances are available to be viewed for seven days.

Solo recitals currently online include:

Emma Gregan (Horn)

Ricardo Matosinhos - Blues in F

Richard Bissill - Lone Call and Charge

Available to view until Monday 20 April

Lachlan Bramble (Violin)

J.S. Bach - Sonata No. 1 in G minor Adagio

Available to view until Saturday 18 April

Dean Newcomb (Clarinet)

Stravinsky - Three Pieces for Clarinet

Available to view until Wednesday 22 April

This Saturday tune in to the ASO’s Virtual Concert Hall at 1600 (ACST) as Principal Cellist, Simon Cobcroft performs the Allemande and Sarabande from J.S. Bach’s Cello Suite No. 1.

Simon, like most of the ASO musicians, is finding it difficult now that COVID-19 has put a hold on ASO concerts. He said, “I miss playing the music I love, I miss playing with my colleagues, and I miss the frisson that only a concert with a wonderful, engaged and appreciative audience brings. We hope that our virtual solo performances can bring some joy to those at home in isolation until we can get back on stage”.

In addition to the on-line solo recitals, ASO musicians will surprise and delight with a series of personal video diaries:ASO at Home as players take you into their homes and tell stories of life in isolation.

To stay in touch simply like the ASO on Facebook or follow the ASO on Instagram to see when new recitals are uploaded, or sign up to the fortnightly eNotes Newsletter via the ASO website,

Create a virtual space for music with Adelaide Symphony Orchestra


Digital, MPA Activities, News